top of page
  • Writer's pictureDave Nathanael

Music For The Soul #5: Tchaikovsky, Symphony No. 5 - IV. Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace

Tchaikovsky!! My favourite romanticism classical-music composer!

I often describe his music as 'SENTIMENTAL' also because he was really inclined to the romanticism ideology of expressing the composer's (or artist's) turmoil in life. He didn't make

music in a formal and usual way. And, this's one of my favourite Symphonies from the romanticism era in classical music. I played this in Jakarta's amazing concert hall, Aula Simfonia Jakarta, which is my music home in Indonesia. What a treat, both for me & for the listeners..

This is just the last movement of his Symphony No. 5; just the last 10 minutes out of the whole 45. This symphony is written as Tchaikovsky's summer getaway in Moscow, and published the first time in the early days of Autumn; you could smell the summer-vibes within the music.

Being very musical, he had a few themes packed into this symphony, and everything flows very naturally and the new section is introduced organically from the previous section, aka very seamless transitions / introductions.

After all the scoring done, Tchaikovsky wrote, "I am so pleased that my symphony is safely finished" [25]. "My symphony is ready, and I think that I have not miscalculated, that it has turned out well"

The opening of this fourth movement, later on, inspired Jean Sibelius on his first symphony. Just listen the music transform, from solemnity to march, to climax, and STOP abruptly, before going onto the sound explosion and acoustic punches of the recapitulation at the ending of the movement, with the first theme appearing again. It's breathless! But not just that, the coda brings you unsettlement and a violent forward motion, with the first theme from the first movement (opening of the whole symphony) appearing again, to close the symphony!

This's a symphonic scoring: to be played by an orchestra consisting of 3 flutes (3rd doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets (in A), 2 bassoons + 4 horns (in F), 2 trumpets (in A), 3 trombones, tuba + 3 timpani + all 40-50 people on violin I, violin II, viola, cello, & double basses chairs. So, I highly recommend you to get fully immersed into the Tchaikovsky sentimental waves, by using a decent speakers, or with a headphones. Let Tchaikovsky sentimental get your way to start / end your day; and you will not regret you have heard this.



This series of "Music for the soul" is one of my hedonistic ways to enjoy my life: Good music with my tea / coffee.

Many music these days are very compressed, condensed, high pitched / so much treble, & poorly-organised. And many lead our feelings to become so unsettled, anxious, or even depressed.

Let yourself be immersed in this beautiful music; most are classical music (some won't be classical music; we're all learning how to appreciate every good music around us, either in our usual way or not).

Get your tea / coffee, sit in your sofa / bed, put headphones on, close your eyes, and just enjoy! :)

I always say Music is the supplement for human's soul.

Good music creates good soul.


Artists: Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Mariss Jansons (cond)


bottom of page